My First Novel Journey, Random Thoughts, Random Posts

It’s OK to Dream Big

I’m part of a fabulous, large writing community on social media. I adore each and every one of them and how they positively pollute my news feed with the energy I need to sometimes stay motivated when the writing gets tough. If it wasn’t for these like-minded, determined, artistic individuals who love literature and writing as much as I do, my social media feeds would be engagements, weddings, babies and Game of Thrones everything. I’m not ready for any of those things except Game of Thrones. Seriously, the delay in season seven is killing me with each passing Sunday.

However, sometimes I think artistic individuals can be a little pretentious and judgmental.

I just want to get this off my chest: there’s nothing wrong with dreaming of fame and fortune. I think when people say they dream of being successful, with fame and fortune, we automatically assume that means they don’t love what they do.

We live in a world now where I could go start an Instagram account, and only post videos of me smashing bread with my face and become famous for it. Which, by the way, is sadly  a real thing. My point is that If I truly just wanted fame and fortune, there’s tons of other stupid, less difficult paths I could try walking down to make that happen. Writing a book is definitely not one of them.

I am SO tired of hearing, “you should write a book because you love writing, not because you want to see it made into a movie one day,” or “not because you hope it makes you rich.”

Why is hoping my book will be so successful so bad?  It’s just another step on the success ladder that I hope my writing can climb. Also, if my book makes me rich, this means thousands, maybe millions, of readers bought my book and likely loved it. The idea that I would never have to worry about putting a roof over my head and food on my table because of passionate bookworms who bought and loved my book is moving. I do agree that getting “rich” by today’s standard is incredibly difficult for authors, but dreaming of being able to do it full-time is a dream I’ll never give up on.

What I’m trying to say is, there are people out there who are genuine when they say that if their work is never published they’ll die happy because all they want to do is write. I get it, and respect it. What I want people to do in return is respect that some of us writers dream really big. We’re talking Harry Potter level of success, because it would be a dream come true to make it at that level by doing something we love and sharing it with millions of people.

Dreaming big doesn’t make you greedy, fake, or any less better of a writer (or any other profession you’re pursuing). It just means you have a lot of work ahead of you, so get to it.

2 thoughts on “It’s OK to Dream Big”

Leave a Reply

