Random Thoughts, Random Posts

Personal Writing

Have you ever written something so personal, it hurt? Whether that’d be in your current manuscript, a diary entry, or anything else.

As of yesterday, I had this idea for an entire chapter, that at the root was incredibly personal to me but I felt so strongly that it had to be written. It’s not even a chapter for my current work in progress. It, (at least for now), is intended as a contemporary adult book. Or new adult book? I don’t know, it’s really just a draft.

As someone who discovered her love for writing by writing about personal things, I always thought this would be my cup of tea. However, my current work in progress, (the fantasy), while is somewhat rooted in my personal experiences, has nothing to do with any actual moments that have happened to me.

On the other hand, this chapter I just wrote that was calling me last night when I went to bed, (as it goes with most writers), was so personal to almost every last detail, it was therapeutic and hurtful all at the same time. It’s been so long since I wrote anything that personal, that I really wasn’t sure if I’d like it or not. Turns out, at least for this piece, I didn’t.

It’s amazing how words make a situation so real. This post isn’t meant to be a cry for help at all, I’m fairly happy with my life. But why is it that sometimes we writers can create whole new worlds out of minimal influence, and the next day dive into our most personal memories and create beauty there as well?

It’s fascinating.

Leave a Reply

