Random Thoughts, Random Posts

Bye Toxicity

I’ve started noticing something lately. While we are all guilty of what I am about to talk about, some are far more guilty than others. This is especially true when it comes to the work place.

Imagine this: It’s Monday and you’ve just set your stuff down on your desk as you arrive to work, and you hear your co-worker say, “Well, only seven hours and 59 minutes to go.”

The tone for my day, even my week, is immediately set.

At first, I laugh at this and give the typical, “I know, right?” response. However, lately, it’s really, really driving me nuts. I can’t express how much I am OVER people saying, “UGH is it Friday yet?” When someone walks through the office and says, “I can’t wait to get out of here!” how am I supposed to feel? Happy to be at work? Energized? Inspired? Hell no.

I’m beginning to notice more and more of these toxic people/toxic behaviors in my life, both at work and in my personal life, and this is my post putting an end to my contribution of toxicity in this world. This world is full of depressing, negative happenings enough as is. Of course I’ll have a day once in a while where I’ll think these things, I’m only human. Not to mention, it’s impossible to not let these toxic people affect you once in a while if you are forced to hear them every day. Because of that, I say it’s time to make a conscious effort to not only try to change my way of thinking, but to not be a part of spreading this toxicity.

I haven’t felt inspired by someone (mainly in regards to my career and people who are physically present in my life) in so long, and that’s a sad thought. So many people spend their lives wishing time away instead of thinking what they can do with it. The conversations they can have, the things they can learn to become better people, what they can do to make a difference in the world and not just their lives, and the adventures ahead of them.

Why save those adventures for one day? Why waste our time complaining about things we can’t change, and why not try to change the things we can influence? Why not work hard and chase our dreams, instead of complaining about how “nothing has happened for you yet?” (Think of the increase you’d see in productivity and happiness in your life if you did something you loved every time you complained! *Gasps*)

If you notice the same amount of toxicity in your life, plug in some headphones with an inspiring video, book, or music while you work if you’re fortunate enough to be able to cancel out the negativity. If not, try to ignore it, and be the ray of sunshine that I, and everyone else in the world, need and crave more of.

2 thoughts on “Bye Toxicity”

Leave a Reply

