My First Novel Journey

Oh, Hey

It’s been two months since my last post?!

I haven’t blogged in so long, and for good reasons.

1.I GOT A NEW JOB. (Check that off my quarterly goals list!)

  • I’m now a graphic designer/marketing associate with a bank in the greater Boston area. It is a massive improvement from my first job in terms of responsibility and pay, which makes me very, very happy.

2. Very sadly, my grandfather (I call him pépère-French for granddad), became sick and passed away a couple of weeks ago.

  • At the end of July, my pépère went to the hospital, and unfortunately a series of diagnoses kept him in the hospital and rehab facilities for the last month and a half of his life. I visited about every weekend (because he was in Maine), and my family was constantly with him. He was my last grandparent, and though we weren’t super close, I loved him and all of his quirks dearly.

While I don’t want to get too personal, visiting his bedside after he passed, was the first time I had seen a body without..the person. Watching the remainder of his life pan out the way it did and seeing his lifeless body gave me an entirely new perspective on life. Family, health, your dreams and happiness should always comes first. Life is just…life, otherwise. Without those things, we are just physical beings that will eventually grow old (hopefully) and pass. If we don’t do something meaningful with our time here on Earth, then what’s the point?

Anyway, I’m happy to say my pépère passed painlessly, surrounded by loved ones, and I couldn’t have asked for a better way for him to leave us. For that, I am so thankful. He lived a very long, happy and full life and touched many people. ❤

35715_1420322621612_2294850_n

3. Vigorous apartment hunting. Which paid off!

  • On a happier note, after I got my new job, John and I knew we had to move…again. This is the third time we are moving, and I am completely over the process. Apartment hunting, especially in the greater Boston area, is the absolute worst. We saw many overpriced dumps, encountered a lot of jerks telling us “we weren’t going to find better,” (haha!) but because we knew better, we kept searching. Finally we found an apartment in the best location, with a dishwasher, in-unit laundry and it’s right on a recreational lake. Perfect for me to sit outside in the nice weather and write my heart out. We move November 1st, and it’ll cut my commute time in half, which will make a HUGE difference in the amount of writing time I have (and free time in general). I’m counting down the days.

4. My work day is 3.5 hours longer because of commuting and an 1.5 hours of actual work time.

  • My job is 33.3 miles away from my house. In theory, that doesn’t sound bad, but once you add in the fact that I’m driving into the city, with pretty much the rest of New England, it takes SO long to get there.

So I’m up at 4:45am every day and on the road by 5am. I workout at a gym 5 minutes away from my work, so that I can not only get my workout over with, but also miss rush hour traffic coming in to work.

Then it takes me an hour to get home. At that point, I’ve had a 15-16 hour day. I’m a vegetable by the time I get home and get my things ready for the next day.

So yeah. My life is a little different lately. Sadly, my writing fell way behind, but over the past couple of weeks I’ve gotten back on track.

I’ve started using my lunch break to write. I can take up to an hour for lunch, so sometimes I take the full hour and write, others I try to take only the half hour for writing, because the over-time pay is great and really, I need it. Then again, so is writing and feeling accomplished. So, I try to balance the two.

I’m just about at thirty pages of my first draft, and have set a goal for myself this week to hit 65 pages. I never thought I was one to care about the number of words or pages I’ve accomplished, as much as I care about the quality of work I am doing, however I find these number goals give me something concrete to look forward to and they make me feel more accountable. If I don’t reach the goal, I usually get twice as much accomplished than if I would have otherwise.

Alas, my life is shifting a lot and a little at a time. I’m sure once we move, there will be a while where I’ll fall off the face of my blog again. I’m going to try avoiding falling behind on my first draft as much as possible, so when I do come back to blog, I’ll have a lot of great news and updates on my novel in progress.

I’m still so passionate about this book, what it stands for, and the characters I am developing. I’d love to have the completed first draft a year from now, maybe even sooner.

I hope everyone else’s writing, and life, is going well.

Remember, life is just life, unless we give it meaning.

 

Leave a Reply

